top of page

The Hidden Gems of Brussels: Thermae Boetfort

The Brussels life can be quite tiring... Work work work, gym gym gym, meeting up with friends, shopping (Rue Neuve or Nieuwstraat always absolutely crowded - except on Saturdays at 10:00 - trust me best time for shopping)... Anyway, the point is: No time for relaxation whatsoever apart from the daily dose of Netflix and Chill!

So what to do on the weekends? When you finally have some free time and want to relax? Now, I am gonna share my personal favourite place! The place that I go to when I feel stressed, tired or I just want to have some lovey-dovey time with my husband. And the Oscar for best Hidden Gem of Brussels goes to (drumsticks rolling)... THERMAE BOETFORT! The place is absolutely wonderful, literally out of a dream. If you love castles, spas, Jacuzzi, relaxation and great food this is the place to go. See for yourself!


Thermae Boetfort is located in the outskirts of Brussels and it is fairly easy to get there. There is a direct bus connection going from the center of Brussels. What I really like about this place is first of all the location: the scenery is really amazing; the fact that there is a nude part and (for the shy ones) a swimsuit part; there is a big variety of saunas and Jacuzzi in both sides and the food is really yummy!

Since I have been there a couple of times, I started to make my own ritual: I arrive and chill in the swimsuit side at the garden, go in the swimming pool and then it's cava time! Yap, cava also helps to relax... If you want to have cava included in your spa package for two, I would recommend you to buy the Bongo gift voucher 'Sauna and Bubbles' which gives you a day pass for Thermae Boetfort for two people plus two glasses of Cava! You also have some cool packages from the Thermae itself. I really want to try the Halo Therapy, sounds really awesome!

I know what you are thinking!! Swimming Pool and Cava: what a perfect combination! And yap, I decided to wear my pink robe (LOVE IT!) and my sunglasses since it was sunny in Brussels (yes, unbelievable to have nice temperatures and sunny weather in Brussels in February). You can actually get towels and robes from the reception (but you have to pay extra) or you can bring them from home. Anyway, I love the place with nice weather, but it is also super cozy with cold weather! Unfortunately I have never been there with snow, but that will be my next goal!



I also want to share with you what I consider a funny story: my first scrub experience! So Thermae Boetfort had two possibilities: to go for the scrub experience in the naked part or in the swimsuit part.



Since I was too late for the swimsuit part, I decided to give it a try in the naked part. So I go down the stairs in front of the Steam Bath Room 5 minutes before (the times and experiences are always advertised on the screens) and there is a queue of around 50 naked people in front of the room. I thought " no chance this place is going to be that big that everybody will fit in there" - Guess what? They did fit! - Anyway, I was standing there waiting for the time and my main concern was (obviously) to be careful not to touch accidentally anyone (I know right? Can be quite awkward! Luckily this did not happen!) So, I go in, and since it was everything filled with steam I thought "Omg... what if I sit in the someone's lap??? I cannot see anything - Luckily also did not happen - but I ended up next to the thing that makes the steam! So guess what? It was quite hot! Not a problem though, my Portuguese blood handled it well! At the end it was a super cool experience! My skin was so soft and smelled so good, so it was absolutely worth it! I would recommend though to go 10 minutes before the session starts!


Furthermore, I really would recommend you to be flexible and go to both sides, since they are both so different and so nice. Please bear in mind though, that there are more options on the naked part and most photos you see here are from this side. Also, I have to say that I really loved the special decoration for Valentine's day! This place is both a great experience for couples or for people going alone or with friends!


Time to say goodbye! Hope you enjoyed my tips about the Thermae!

Stay tuned for the next Brussels Hidden Gem!





Recent Posts
Archive
bottom of page